What did I want to be when I grew up as a young child? I have been blessed with many talents so my list ranged from author, lawyer, runway model, engineer and CEO of a major corporation. It is very common to be strong in English and weak in Math or vice versa, however I happened to do well in both subjects. My desire for Math took over in my high school years and I surprised my step-father when I told him that I wanted to be an engineer. I was very shocked by his response as I assumed he would say “Go for your dreams. You can do anything that you set your mind to do. I believe in you.”

In actuality, he said “First of all you have two things against you. You are African American and you are a woman. It will be practically impossible to accomplish that.” Most people would have been discouraged with those words but being blessed with determination as well that just fueled the fire within me even more. 

Although he is no longer my step-father, I always make sure my younger brother and sister let him know that I graduated from the University of Southern California engineering school and had been an engineer with the Boeing Company for 10 years. Isn’t it ironic that his desire was to be a lawyer and he has a degree in Political Science but yet his current job is a security guard? Hmm..I wonder if his attitude got in the way. Maybe he still believes that he can’t achieve his dreams because he is an African American male.  It is possible that his perception became his reality.

Even after 10 years of being an Engineer, I went after another childhood dream of becoming a CEO of a major corporation, my own corporation!  That dream was realized when I received my mortgage broker’s license and along w/my husband we have a very successful mortgage and real estate company: Premier Equity Group, Inc. and Premier Realty Group. I’ve worked from home with my husband for the past 3 years as he’s been in the business for a total of 6 years.

           During these same years, we’ve also been engaged with several online internet marketing companies that are taking the world by storm! Get on the internet wave!  We are firm believers in multiple streams of income. Life is too short to not go after your dreams.  Don’t let anyone keep you down. Stay positive and focus on your dreams.  Live your life to the fullest and go make those dreams a reality!!!

